An Alabama State Trooper along with two others were injured in a state trooper crash when an semi truck collided with the officer and two vehicles as he conducted a traffic stop. The crash occurred in Marion County on Interstate 22.
On Dec. 11, 2014, the trooper had stopped a 2014 GMC SUV when an the semi truck left the road, struck the patrol vehicle, the SUV and the trooper who was standing outside the vehicle. After the state trooper crash, the trooper was airlifted to UAB Hospital in Birmingham. The driver of the SUV also was seriously injured and flown to the North Mississippi Medical Center in Tupelo. The driver of the tractor-trailer was injured and transported to North Mississippi by ambulance.
Have You Been Injured in an Accident?
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you may be able to pursue a personal injury claim. Attorney Group for Alabama can evaluate your case and help you determine if you have a claim. If so, one of our affiliated attorneys can file a lawsuit on your behalf. You may be eligible for monetary compensation to cover costs such as:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
Call Attorney Group for Alabama today for details. And there are no out-of-pocket costs due from you.
Injuries to Law Enforcement
More than 160 law enforcement officers and first responders died between 1999 and 2010 after being struck by vehicles along US roads, according to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund. A poll conducted by the National Safety Commission found that 90% of people believe that traffic stops and roadside emergencies are dangerous for first responders and law enforcement. For this reason, many states have implemented move over laws that require drivers to move over or change lanes to give safe clearance when they encounter either law enforcement or first responders on the side of the road.
Move Over Laws
Alabama implemented a move over Law in 2005 that requires drivers approaching stationary emergency vehicles that are displaying flashing lights to move over into another lane if possible. If they cannot move into another lane, they are to slow down to at least 15 mph less than the posted speed limit. Drivers must move over for any vehicle with flashing lights, including wreckers. The statute was designed to eliminate a state trooper crash or other incident that jeopardizes the safety of first responders. Violations are a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $25 for the first offense, $50 for the second offense and $100 for three or more violations.